Overview
Browser cache are temporary files that are saved onto a computer to improve browser speed performance. Occasionally, these files need to be cleared in order to access websites properly. This article describes how to clear the browser cache in different web browsers.
Instructions
Chrome
- Open Google Chrome.
- Select the three vertical dots in the upper right corner, next to the address bar.
- Select Delete Browsing Data.
- A box titled "Delete browsing data" will appear. If possible, check all boxes. Verify the user is okay with potentially losing locally saved password before checking the passwords box.
- Select More, then All Time option from the drop down menu.
- Select the blue Delete from this device button.
Mozilla Firefox
- Open Firefox.
- Select the hamburger menu icon in the upper right corner, next to the address bar.
- Select Settings.
- Select Privacy & Security on left side.
- In the browsing data section, select Clear browsing data.
- A box titled "Clear browsing data and cookies" will appear. If possible, check all boxes. Verify the user is okay with potentially losing locally saved password before checking the passwords box.
- In the When option box at the top, select Everything option from the drop down menu.
- Select Clear.
Microsoft Edge
- Open Microsoft Edge.
- Select the Three Horizontal Dots in the upper right corner, next to the address bar.
- Select Settings.
- Select Privacy, search, and services.
- Select Clear browsing data.
- Under the Delete browsing data heading, select Choose what to clear.
- Select Show More, if needed.
- A box titled "Delete browsing data" will appear. If possible, check all boxes. Verify the user is okay with potentially losing locally saved password before checking the passwords box.
- In the Time Range option box at the top, select the All Time option from the drop down menu.
- Select Clear now.
Internet Explorer
- Open Internet Explorer.
- Select the gear icon in the upper right corner, titled Tools.
- Select Safety from the menu.
- Select Delete Browsing History.
- If possible, check all boxes. Verify the user is okay with potentially losing locally saved password before checking the passwords box.
- Select Delete.
Safari
- Open Safari.
- Select Safari in the upper left hand side of your screen.
- In the menu that appears, select Clear History.
- Select All History from the drop down menu in the box that appears.
- Select Clear History.
Important Note
- Do not delete saved passwords to websites that you do not know the password as you will not be able to log back in until you provide the correct login information.
Still Need Help?
If this article did not answer your question or resolve your issue, please contact the Technical Support Center (TSC) at 913-469-7700 or create a ticket by clicking this link.